There’s just something about a motorcycle that most people can’t resist. Maybe it’s the freedom, the engine rumbling between their thighs, or simply the lifestyle. Whatever it is, owning a motorcycle can be a personal goal for some people but before they own one, they must have a permit. Requirements for permits can vary from state to state so it’s always best to consult with your local authorities. To get you started with a few pointers, we’ve created a brief guide on what requirements to expect when getting your motorcycle permit.
As with most other permits, age is usually the first thing regulatory bodies consider. Even though you’ve likely ridden on two wheels for a good chunk of your childhood, having an engine and commuting on public roads will require you to be a certain age.
If you’re at least 16 years old, then you should be able to apply for a permit in most states. However, applying for a license would require you to be at least two years older than that. Californians who are at least 15 years and 6 months old can get an instruction permit, and with the completion of approved driver education and driver training courses, they can operate a motorcycle. The exception here is that they cannot go on freeways after dark or bring passengers.
Many states require parental consent if you’re under 18 years old. Others have age-tiers that allow or restrict what you can do when you have your permit.
Who knows what the streets would look like if no one had to take tests before they got their license? There’s a good chance it would be nothing but chaos and craziness. It makes sense, then, that governments require that you take several tests before they hand you a permit.
You will need to do both a vision exam and a written test. Most DMVs set the pass mark at 70%. Before you even schedule your exam, you should attempt a Motorcycle Permit Practice Test for you to have a higher chance of passing the actual permit test. These tests are sometimes free and are very useful. Do as many as you can so that you are fully prepared for D-day.
The documents you need for your application vary by state. However, most states will ask you for a valid ID, proof of address, and Social Security Number. Depending on your case, you may be asked for documentation of US citizenship or proof of lawful status in the United States.
In the state of Georgia, you could be asked for proof of school enrollment. This includes transcripts, progress reports, and School ID. For those who are homeschooled, you must provide a “Declaration of Intent To Utilize a Home Study Program” that’s filed with the Georgia Department of Education. If you’re under 18 but not enrolled, you need to provide a high school diploma, GED, special diploma, certification of high school completion, or proof of enrollment in a GED program or a post-secondary school.
Driver Education Course
Some states require that you complete specially designed driver education courses to get your permit. This might seem like a bother, but it actually helps you a lot. Since each state would design their own course, they are teaching you the best way to adhere to their laws as you commute to and from places.
In Georgia, for example, 16-year-olds need to complete a course at a DDS Certified Driving Training School. After that, they need to provide a certificate of completion when handing in their application. Each state has its own rules about who needs to take a driver education course based on their own stipulations such as age. Courses can range from 6 to 30 hours based on where you live. Check with your local DMV to know what you need to do.
Getting a motorcycle can be exciting. Before you get ready to ride, you need to have a permit or license, and sometimes both. This permit can determine legal restrictions as you learn to ride such as allowed times and the ability to carry passengers. To prepare yourself for the application, you’ll need to be at least 16 or older in most states. You should also have a valid ID, proof of address, and proof of schooling. Your next step will be doing both a vision exam and a written exam to test your road knowledge. If taking a driver education course is mandatory in your state, ensure that you complete it and retain everything you can.